Help Resources‎ > ‎

Graduating Seniors and Exiting Staff - Expiring Accounts

Senior's network accounts will expire on the last day of June each school year. All student Y Drive data will be deleted on this date. All online accounts linked to network accounts (Google Apps, Schoology, etc) will be disabled and inaccessible.

Accounts for staff who are leaving the district will be unavailable based on the date set by Personnel.

Students or Staff who wish to keep their data should review the following:

Transfer Y Drive content

Either use a USB drive (quicker preferred method) or download files from web access (https://home.westport.k12.ct.us/web) or file share access (see mounting Y drives). 

Export Gmail messages

There are 2 prerequisites that need to be set in order to allow access to your existing Google Apps accounts.
Migration Steps
  1. Create a personal Gmail account and logon with it.
  2. Click the gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings.
  3. Open the Accounts tab.
  4. In the Check mail from other accounts (using POP3) section, click Add a POP3 mail account you own.
  5. Enter the full email address of the account you'd like to access, then click Next Step.
  6. Gmail will populate sample settings, but they must be changed to match the following:
    1. Username: your <username>@westport.k12.ct.us or @students.westport.k12.ct.us
    2. Password: your network password
    3. POP Server:pop.gmail.com Port:995
  7. You will need to be sure "Leave a copy of retrieved messages on the server" is unchecked otherwise the process will not work
  8. Decide whether to:
    1. Always use a secure connection (SSL) when retrieving mail
    2. Label incoming messages
    3. Archive incoming messages
  9. Click Add Account.
  10. Once your account has been added successfully, messages from your Westport Gmail account will begin to arrive in your personal Gmail account. Depending on the amount of messages it may take up to several days to complete.
    Disable Mail Fetcher (after account has expired)
  • Open your personal Gmail.
  • Click the gear icon  in the upper right, then select Settings.
  • Open the Accounts tab.
  • Find the Check mail from other accounts (using POP3) section.
  • Click delete next to the account you wish to disable.

Other Google Products including Drive, Picasa Web Albums, Blogger, Youtube, etc.